Billiard Rules – If You Hit Your Opponents Ball in


Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next?

The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.

Before we move on, we need to check which format you play pool in because this answer could change depending on your response. Do you play by “bar rules” or “league rules”? More info here, I wrote an article explaining the differences.

Bar rules:

If you did not hit your ball first and made your opponents ball – you table scratched and your opponents get the cue ball to place anywhere on the table behind the 2nd diamond/dot.

  • Example: You are solids and hit a stripe ball by accident and it went in a pocket

What’s a table scratch? That’s when you fouled but the cue ball did not go into a pocket. It’s just another way of fouling but results in the same thing scratching in a pocket would.

If you DID hit your ball first and made your opponents ball – there is no foul, it is simply your opponents turn.

  • Example: You are solids and hit a stripes ball that accidently goes in

League rules:

Do you play in a pool league? APA, or BCA, or another similar format? If you do, keep reading, the rules may be different.


If you did not hit your ball first and made your opponents ball – you table scratched and your opponents get the cue ball to place anywhere on the table.

What’s a cue ball? The white ball you are hitting first.

I hope that helps you understand what to do next time you accidentally make one of your opponents balls. Good luck and shoot well!

Benny

Benny is the owner of Supreme Billiards and has been shooting pool and teaching people how to shoot pool for a few years now. He enjoys showing new players techniques and drills to improve their pool game.

Recent Content